It’s not selfish

0a1402d961e085c4a77dd08987a05682-2
Source

Happy Monday everyone. I hope you all had a great weekend.

Today’s quote from my Happy Jar is:

“It’s not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself, and to make your happiness a priority. It’s necessary.”

It took me a long time to learn and understand this. I was such a ‘yes’ person, that even if Iย knew that doing something for someone else meant putting what I had to do on the back-burner, I would still agree to it. My love for other people is what pushed me to say ‘yes’ all the time, but I wasn’t being smart. I wasn’t taking care of myself, and in turn, this affected my own life. I was putting myself last.

But it should always be the other way around, and I am glad I have finally come to this realisation. Hence, my new motto for my life: #Idontcare, which doesn’t only apply to the context I talked about it in this post, but also to this topic today and in whatever way you need to begin to prioritise yourself.

Of course, I have created a balance. I don’t just go around saying ‘no’ to people, but whenever I know that I can’t do something or it is not convenient for me, I don’t accept it. And I don’t feel guilty either because I know my limits. I have noticed that when I am happier in myself, I am able to serve others much better.

So take care of yourself. You come first. And the happier you are, the happier those around you will be.

On another note, I will be taking part in a digital detox from Thursday, 9th February to Wednesday, 1st March. I have done this on more than one occasion, and it is always so beneficial for me.

There are a lot of distractions in this world and at times, they can become overwhelming, which can cause us to get our priorities all wrong. I will be using this time as an opportunity to revive myself, focus on what is most important and invest in my faith, which is the foundation of my life. So, I won’t be posting during that time, although I have one scheduled post coming out on the day my digital detox begins.

In the meantime, have a great day and I will be back in three weeks.

Thank you for reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

Mich x

BLOGLOVINโ€™ | INSTAGRAM |ย TWITTER

 

14 thoughts on “It’s not selfish

  1. I’m with you Mich. I don’t know how we became yes-people but it sure does stink. I love this quote. Being people pleasers we tend to be self-conscious and worry what others think of us, which makes practicing self-love seem selfish to us. This quote helps to change our mindsets to one that embraces it. I just uploaded a quote onto my instagram “If you don’t give love to yourself how can you give love to anyone else?” It should always be a give and take, not just a give.

    Also the digital detox is great. I did this last summer/fall by uninstalling all my social apps so that I’d have to go online to use them. Much more work but it was a great experience. I’m trying to find balance now by posting in advanced on a schedule.

    -Thanks,
    Latreil – heymissjackson.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Your lifestyle posts are always so relatable! I was also such a yes person before but being able to say no is also a way to test people in front of you. If they go away when you say no, it means they would have done their best to take advantage of you again and again if you said yes!

    http://ariadibari.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

