Michelle’s Happy Jar

photo_2016-12-22_13-31-54

photo_2016-12-22_13-32-02
This floral detail reminds me of Cath Kidston.

photo_2016-12-22_13-32-04

photo_2016-12-22_13-31-59

Two more days until Christmas! Happy Friday everyone. I have a half day at work today, which is a great start to the holiday.

Yesterday at work, we gave our Secret Friend gifts and it was fabulous. I gave my secret friend an art set because he is really artistic. It came with a sketch pad, normal pad, sketch pencils and colouring pencils. He loved it and I loved giving it to him because I put a lot of thought into what I was going to get him.

Speaking of thoughtful gifts, can we just take a second to appreciate my Secret Friend gift. I took more than a moment – I squealed! This is ‘Michelle’s Happy Jar’ and I LOVE it! It was from one of my closest friends, who also works with me, and she made it for me.

It has motivational quotes, bible verses and basically statements to boost my morale, especially for when I am feeling down. This is absolutely perfect for me, because 2016 has been one of the toughest years of my life, particularly in my health. To fill you all in, I developed severe eczema in April, and it has been downhill since then. It has been hard for me to take pictures of myself, which is why outfit posts have been extremely scarce on my blog and I have barely posted pictures of my face on Instagram. It really knocked my self-confidence and getting through each day has been a battle. But, I am getting back on my feet and feeling more like myself, because I am investing in my faith and remembering that who you are is more important than what you physically look like. But I know that I will be back sooner than you know. 🙂

My friend intended for there to be 365 quotes in the jar but could not fit them all in, so she gave me more to put inside when I run out. How thoughtful. The first one that I picked out above says:

“Many daughters have done virtuously, but you excel them all. The heart of her husband safely trusts in her, so that he will have no lack of gain.” 

What did you get as a Secret Friend/Santa gift?

Have a great holiday and enjoy your time with family and loved ones. There will be no posts during the holiday season, so see you in January.

Mich x

 BLOGLOVIN’ | INSTAGRAMTWITTER

22 thoughts on “Michelle’s Happy Jar

  1. Pingback: It’s not selfish

Leave a Reply

