The Body Shop’s Purifying Glow Mask review

img_5558

img_5561

img_5565

I received this free sample of The Body Shop’s Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask (retailed at £15.00 for 75ml and £20.00 for 100ml), which I couldn’t wait to try out. I think that samples are a God-send. There’s no commitment; if you don’t like it, you don’t have to buy it. It’s a waste of money to buy a product in its entirety, only to realise that you don’t like it.

Anyway, I love face masks. Although I’m not so clued up about them in general, I love anything that has health benefits for the skin, as most of you know my recent troubles with eczema. I was happy that I received this particular face mask because I feel as though my skin needs purification.

The purifying glow mask is 100% vegan and infused with bamboo charcoal, green tea leaves and organic tea tree oil. It claims to extract impurities from the skin and refine the appearance of pores for healthy-looking skin with a glow.

Read on to see what I thought of it.

I firstly made sure my face was washed and clean, as this is how you should always start a facial.

However, I didn’t expect what happened next. First of all, I didn’t anticipate the bamboo charcoal fragments to be as thick as they were. I thought they would have been blended in. The mask felt exfoliating because of all the bits in it, but I just wasn’t expecting ‘chunks’ (the best way I can express it, although they weren’t as big as chunks per se).

Secondly, it burned. I’m not sure if that is because my skin is extra dry and I’m currently taking a lot of medication to get rid of the effects of severe eczema. It didn’t mention what skin type it worked best for. But I’m sure it shouldn’t have burned right? I couldn’t even leave it on for the recommended 5-10 mins. I had to rinse it off with cold water after two minutes. Sob. Yet, I must admit that my face appeared brighter afterwards, which was the only pro.

Lastly, the scent of the mask was wonderful, if not a little overwhelming.

There were a lot of unexpected surprises with this product, and to be honest, I’m a little disappointed. I wouldn’t buy it, so I’m glad I had the chance to try it beforehand. But maybe it just didn’t work for me.

Has anyone ever used this and loved it? Let me know, and have a great weekend! 🙂

Mich x

BLOGLOVIN’ | INSTAGRAMTWITTER

This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.

 

8 thoughts on “The Body Shop’s Purifying Glow Mask review

  1. I agree, samples are always so much better before fully committing to a product! Sucks that it didnt work for you :/ have you tried the loreal face masks? maybe those will work better for you!
    Pam xo/ Pam Scalfi♥

    Like

  2. Thank goodness it was a free sample and you didn’t have to commit to it. I suffer from eczema on face and body too. And I find certain masks that have charcoal or clay can be a bit too much for my sensitive skin. Thanks for sharing with us.
    Have a great weekend!

    xo, Jackie
    stylemydreams.com

    Like

    1. To be honest I’ve never truly used Body Shop products before so this was a good trial run. A shame it didn’t work but I’ll just have to see what does whilst I’m recovering from eczema.

      Like

Leave a Reply

