Food review: Sensations

photo_2016-06-18_21-47-53.jpg

Sensations is an ice cream parlour located in Holloway, North London. It is fairly new, having only opened in September 2014. The first time that I visited it, I had the gelato in a chocolate-dipped cone to go, which was delicious. But on this particular visit, I was treated to their waffles.

photo_2016-06-18_21-47-25

I picked the Ferrero Rocher waffle, which was doused in melted chocolate, chopped nuts and ferrero rochers, accompanied with a side of vanilla ice cream. You can choose between ice cream or whipped cream.

I started off well, but wasn’t able to finish my dessert. It ended up tasting quite sickly. I think I realise now that I can’t stomach a lot of chocolate as well as I used to. I’m just getting older I suppose. I have to be honest and say that my favourite part of the dessert was the ice cream. And between you and me, I think I may be developing an allergy to hazelnuts. My lips were tingling. Uh oh.

On the plus side, the waffles are made fresh and I can commend it for being light and fluffy, yet filling.

photo_2016-06-18_21-48-01

Since my last visit, stack pancakes and churros have been introduced to the menu. My friend picked the churros with the choice of a white chocolate dip, and one scoop of lemon sorbet. I had a taste and I preferred her dessert to my own. Even whilst being covered in sugar, the churros weren’t too sweet and were warm with a fluffy consistency.

Although I didn’t have a good experience with my chosen dessert—purely through fault of my own—, Sensations will always be my favourite ice cream parlour compared to others I have tried.

If you have a sweet tooth and a weak spot for dessert, I do suggest you give Sensations a try. It is located on 298-300 Holloway Road, London, N7 6NJ.

This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.

Mich x

15 thoughts on “Food review: Sensations

Leave a Reply

