NARS foundation review

img_5311

img_5312

img_5313

Ever since I discovered that I have dry and sensitive skin, I have been paying extra attention to what I put on my face and body, including my makeup—not that you shouldn’t do this whether you have dry, oily or normal skin anyway.

I had been using Lancôme’s Teint Idole Ultra 24H foundation, but after realising that it had gone past the one-year mark, it was time to let it go, and I thought about trying something new. I’d heard a lot about NARS and how people of colour tend to flock to this brand—although popular with women of every skin tone—, and so I also decided to give it a try.

I took a trip down to Selfridge’s to get a shade recommended for me rather than trying to choose on my own. The sales assistant picked the Sheer Glow Foundation in Macao Med/Dark 4. This shade is slightly lighter than the Lancôme foundation I had, but it wasn’t that much of a difference and still blended nicely.

This particular NARS foundation claims to be a complexion brightening formula for normal to dry skin types. Its silky fluid delivers immediate hydration, which I can vouch for. As the sales assistant used her fingers to blend it into my skin she informed me that this formula, as well as all NARS foundations, are dermatologist tested (cue me jumping for joy) and don’t clog the pores, allowing the skin to breathe. It felt so good on my skin, like a moisturiser, rather than me knowingly having foundation on my face. This foundation also claims to even skin tone and leave the skin brighter and more radiant.

Preferably for daily use, it aids the improvement of skin texture over time, causing it to become softer, smoother and luminous. I’ll have to test this theory.

I first trialled it at a wedding, and it only started appearing dull towards the end of the evening around 7pm. If I had stayed out longer, I would have needed a little touch-up just to brighten up my face again, but that doesn’t bother me.

The only con was that it isn’t dispensed with a pump; you’d have to buy that separately for £3, but I guess that’s not too bad and doesn’t break the bank.

Overall, I’m pleased with my new foundation. I’m not a product junkie, so I’ll probably be using this until it expires too.

NARS Sheer Glow Foundation is retailed at £31.

What do you think of NARS? Have you tried any of their foundations or other products?

This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.

Mich x

3 thoughts on “NARS foundation review

  1. I haven’t tried it, but heared so many good things about it. I use Maybelline Fit Me, they’re my favorite and they’re not expensive at all. Nice review!
    Please check out my new fashion inspiration blog: tfmbe.blogspot.com
    Thanks! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

